Delvecchio selected Cape League’s top umpire of 2015

By: John Garner Jr.
Cape League umpire Rick Delvecchio in action / SportsPix

08/12/2015 5:25 PM –     Rick Delvecchio has spent virtually his entire lifetime involved in baseball as a player, coach and for the past several years as an umpire.

     A Braintree, Mass., native and a former baseball and ice hockey player for the University of Connecticut, Delvecchio has been named 12th recipient of the Curly Clement Award as top umpire in the Cape Cod Baseball League for 2015.
     “It’s an honor to be recognized with an award named after an umpire like Curly Clement,” Delvecchio said. “All umpires strive to be recognized, especially among your peers.”
     Delvecchio is vice president of baseball operations at the South Shore Baseball Club in Hingham and was assistant coach for the East Cobb Baseball program of Marietta, Ga., one of the nation’s premier youth baseball programs.
     “Rick is known as the ‘baseball magnet’ for his propensity of getting hit by baseballs behind the plate,”  Cape League senior deputy commissioner Sol Yas said. “But he’s a tough guy and never had to leave a game. Confident of his umpiring skills, Rick is in control at all times.”
Rick Delvecchio, winner of this year’s Curly Clement Award / SportsPix

He played baseball at UConn and Northwest Oklahoma State, where he was a two-time All-American catcher and is the school’s all-time hit leader. Delvecchio is Braintree High’s ice hockey career scoring leader and was defensive standout and leader on the 1989 state champions.

     Robert “Curly” Clement worked as a Cape League umpire over a span of four decades and was inducted into the CCBL Hall of Fame in 2002. He umpired 16 NCAA Division I Baseball Regionals, several Eastern College Athletic Conference Division I Baseball Championships and two NCAA College World Series.
     Affectionately known as the “Candy Man” because of his propensity for passing out candy to players, coaches and field managers during disputes, Clement’s final Cape League appearance was spent working home plate at the 2000 CCBL All-Star game. He died in 2006 after a long illness.
      Previous Clement Award winners are Bill Fisher (2014), Pat Burns (2013), Joe Caraco (2012), Mark Ottavianelli (2011), Michael Sadowski (2010), John Leeds (2009), Harry Greer (2008), Tim Carey (2007), Peter Hall (2006), the late Jim McNally (2005) and Walter Bentson (2004).


On the Cape, CCBL showcases their best



Dom DiMare, Nick Zibelli, and Mike Rabideau enjoying the festivities during the Cape Cod Baseball League Championships.

Summer's heating up down the Cape

Summer’s heating up down the Cape


John Leeds (Tiverton, RI) watches unhappy Hyannis manager Chad Gassman leave the field after being ejected by plate umpire Bill Fisher, in game 2 of the best of 3 Cape Cod League Championship at Yarmouth/Dennis.  The series is tied at one game apiece with the championship game scheduled for Wednesday, August 12th at 6pm in Hyannis.


Cape Cod League All Star Game Umpires

Cape Cod League All Star Game Umpires


Left to right: Joe Peters MA. John Leeds RI. Rick Force NH.
Larry Rosenberg NJ. 
In Memory of Bob Panza

In Memory of Bob Panza

In memory of Bobby Panza



Click on the link:DONATE TO BOB PANZA

We are still continuing to raise funds in Bobs memory PLEASE !!! If you haven’t, Help us.

 Find it your heart during the baseball season to continue to donate to Bobs gofundme page link is below.

Thank you so much for all of our efforts.

CBUAO to coordinate all D-II conferences in the Northeast in 2016!

CBUAO to coordinate all D-II conferences in the Northeast in 2016!


image007   image006image003



Northeast-10 Commissioner, Julie Ruppert has announced a new agreement with the CBUAO for the 2015-2016 academic year.  The new NE-10 contract, along with agreements already in place with the ECC and CACC means the CBUAO will once again provide umpire assigning services to all Division II schools in the Northeast. CBUAO President Nick Zibelli is thrilled with the announcement. “I am honored and grateful for the confidence shown by the Athletic Directors of the D-II conferences and look forward to continuing our relationship which dates back to 1982. Our umpires and staff worked very hard on and off the field to accommodate all of our member schools during the worst spring ever and I salute their efforts.”